1994 960 sedan: experiences and opinions??

Discussion in 'Volvo 960' started by deanh, Jun 9, 2004.

1. deanh

deanh Guest

I'm probably close to purchasing a 94 960 sedan. It test drove
    nicely...felt tight and plenty powerful. Taking it for a mechanical
    inspection later in the week. Relatively low miles (114K).

This car will be used mostly for local trips less than 10 miles as give
    up chaufer duties to a newly licensed driver...it will also be used for
    the snow days and mulch hauling I'd rather avoid using a newer car on:)

I'm a a Volvo novice (have been playing in various VW models for 20
    years) and considering this purchase based on the recommendations of
    multiple coworkers who are avid Volvo supporters.

I'd be interested in the experiences or opinions of others related to
    960s of this vintage...

Thanks

deanh, Jun 9, 2004
    vietvet67 likes this.
  2. deanh

Rob Guenther Guest

We've got a 1993 wagon, and it's served the family quite well... If you want
    to use it in winter, then get good snow tires on steel rims for it, it needs
    them - fairly powerful rear drive car.

Some sources say 1994 has the updated engine, some say 1995... We have the
    older 201hp engine with more top end power, there was also a 181hp engine,
    which felt basically the same, due to more useable torque in the low-mid
    range (i've never driven one, but I would imagine in a straight line the
    201hp engine is the faster car... but who takes a Volvo... a stock Volvo...
    to the track anyways, it's a plenty fast car for the highway tho). Our 201hp
    engine doesn't have a torque deficiancy we can see, it tows our 2000lb
    trailer quite well.

As far as reliability, we've never been stranded, or seen the check engine
    light... Just wear and tear/age items. New radiator was this year.... we
    need a new A/C evap unit, it's had a rear caliper replaced due to a leak,